Heading Logo

Twenty Lady Lions receive scholar-athlete honor

By TODD REED News Leader Sports Editor Published: June 23, 2016 12:00 AM
  • 1 of 2 Photos | View More Photos

The Minerva girls track team had much success this past season, both on the track and in the classroom.

Twenty Lady Lions received the prestigious Northeastern Buckeye Conference Scholar-Athlete Award at the season-ending banquet - Hannah Burress, Juliann Canonico, Hannah Carl, Josie Chaddock, Erin Walters, Libby Zurbrugg, Ava Burman, Jordan Crowe, Jenna Daulbaugh, Emaly Hart, Kayle Kinsey, Madison Pearson, Mackenzie Scott, Sarah Carver, Natalie Crum, Kayla Eddy, Amanda Kukunis, Indre'sia Leavell and Nelle Yankovich.

To receive this honor, an athlete must letter and maintain at least a 3.4 grade point average.

Minerva Scholar-Athlete Award winners included Kylie Gambone, Carlee George, Sara Hoopes, Maya Israel, Kaylee Kovach, Serena Pilz, Sydney Ault, Hailey Lawson, Jaidyn Morgan and Hannah Wiedlebacher.

Earning her fourth varsity letter is senior Libby Zurbrugg.

[Article continues below]

Three-year letter winners are seniors Hannah Burress and Hannah Carl.

Receiving their second varsity letter are Josie Chaddock, Maria Martin, Ava Burman, Jordan Crowe, Jenna Daulbaugh, Elizabeth McCauley, Brittany Moyer, Madison Pearson and Mackenzie Scott.

Earning their first varsity letter are seniors Juliann Canonico, Abby Gassman, Sierra Pickens, Caitlyn Pitts and Erin Walters; sophomores Emaly Hart, Renee Hartong, Leah Hrusch and Kayla Kinsey; and freshmen Sarah Carver, Natalie Crum, Kala Eddy, Amanda Kukunis, Indre'sia Leavell, Alyssa Markins, Shelby Wheeler and Nelle Yankovich.

Reserve awards went to juniors Maria Brooks, Morgan Freestone and Regan Walton; sophomores Kylie Gambone, Carlee George, Sara Hoopes, Maya Israel, Kaylee Kovach, Alyssa Law, Serena Pilz, Aleigha Vogus, Britney Wayts and Harlie Woolever; and freshmen Sydney Ault, Kyrsten Bartley, Ka-Leigh Bock, Adina Howell, Jessica Jordan, Hailey Lawson, Jaidyn Morgan, Jasmine Sines and Hannah Wiedlebacher.

Selected to the NBC first team is Chaddock in the high jump and long jump. Second-team honors went to the 4x800 consisting of Martin, Carver, Scott and Yankovich; Martin in the 3200; and Yankovich in the 1600. Burress and Zurbrugg received honorable-mention status.

Rate this article

Do you want to leave a comment?   Please Log In or Register to comment.